Limited access

Upgrade to access all content for this subject

On April 22, 2016, the Paris Climate Agreement was signed by 176 nations aiming to keep global warming below 2 degrees celsius. The treaty will enter into force in 2020 if 55 countries producing at least 55% of the world's greenhouse gases ratify, accept, approve, or accede to the agreement.

The two largest world producers of greenhouse gases, the United States, and China, which account for 40% of anthropogenic greenhouse gas production, had delegates that signed the Paris Climate Agreement.

All of the following are reasons a country may not ratify the agreement EXCEPT


the country may not have financial capabilities to uphold treaty commitments.


the political decision makers of the country do not support ratification.


the treaty may be in direct contrast to the development, political or economic goals of the country.


treaty goals may not be attainable within the allotted​ timeframe.


the original signing of treaty legally binds the country to the treaty parameters making ratification unnecessary.

Select an assignment template