Limited access

Upgrade to access all content for this subject

In early 1867, the First Reconstruction Act was passed by Congress (which then overrode Johnson's veto of the bill).

This Act:


Divided the South into five districts and sent troops to ensure Southerners gave blacks equal rights, and mandated the Southern states create new constitutions.


Created new state constitutions for all Southern states, and mandated that each state ratify and accept it before being admitted.


Readmitted all Southern states provided they ratified the 14th Amendment.


Declared Southern states conquered territory, redrew their boundaries, and mandated they apply for statehood after ten years of Federal control.


Basically was the same as Lincoln's original plan.

Select an assignment template